House outline blue

Housing Choice Voucher Program

This page has resources for HCV tenants and applicants. HCV Landlords can find resources on the Landlord Resources page. To access the HCV Online Briefing, click here.

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs.

The Housing Choice Voucher Online Briefing walks tenants through the HCV program, how it works, and what to expect. You can access the HCV Online Briefing here.

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HCV Department Closure Dates

HACP's Housing Choice Voucher Department will be closed to clients the following days:
Observed Holidays (Department Closed)
January 1, 2021 (New Year's Day)
January 18, 2021 (MLK Day)
February 15, 2021 (Presidents' Day)
April 2, 2021 (Good Friday)
May 31, 2021 (Memorial Day)
July 5, 2021 (Independence Day Observed)
September 6, 2021 (Labor Day)
November 11, 2021 (Veterans' Day)
November 25, 2021 (Thanksgiving Day)
November 26, 2021 (Day after Thanksgiving)
December 23, 2021 (Floating Holiday)
December 24, 2021 (Christmas Observed)
December December 31, 2021 (New Year's Day Observed)

RFTA’s should be sent to hacp.rfta@hacp.org

Other forms should be emailed to HCV@hacp.org

HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090, Option 2

FAX: 412-456-5224

HCV Department

Anna Jasim, Office Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 3231

Anna.Jasim@hacp.org

Robert Santoriello, HCV Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 2817

Robert.Santoriello@hacp.org

Celia LaRue, Special Project Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 2936

Celia.LaRue@hacp.org

Karen Garrett, Special Project Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 3107

Karen.Garrett@hacp.org

Shante Wilcox, Front Desk Associate

412-456-5000, Ext. 3135

Shante.Wilcox@hacp.org

Diane Jankowski, Service & Support Specialist II

412-456-5000, Ext. 3154

Diane.Jankowski@hacp.org

Ellen Dreher, Customer Service Associate

412-456-5000, Ext. 2781

Ellen.Dreher@hacp.org

Donna Freeman, Portability Supervisor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2891

Donna.Freeman@hacp.org

Malaysia Smith, Service Center Concierge

412-456-5000, Ext. 2890

Malaysia.Smith@hacp.org

Laura Mitchell-Dendy, Service Center Concierge

412-456-5000, Ext. 2858

Laura.Mitchell-Dendy@hacp.org

Tania Alexander, General Clerk

Tania.Alexander@hacp.org

Frank Brown, General Clerk

Frank.Brown2@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Darnell Walker, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2806

Darnell.Walker@hacp.org

Shatae DeVaughn, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2734

Shatae.DeVaughn@hacp.org

Jared Davis, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2902

Jared.Davis@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Will Stewart, Inspections Manager HCV

412-456-5000, Ext. 2889

Willie.Stewart@hacp.org

Douglas Wampler, Administrative Liaison (Inspections)

412-456-5000, Ext. 3114

Douglas.Wampler@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Landlord Support Line

412-961-1651